Eastern Los Angeles Regional Center will continue to operate during the “Safer at Home” order in place for Los Angeles County.  The ELARC office buildings will be closed to the public beginning Friday, March 20, 2020. Our main number is (626) 299-4700. The best way to reach your Service Coordinator is by email or phone, view the staff phone list here.  We want you to stay safe and be well. Additional information is available at ELARC/COVID-19.

Cerebral Palsy

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

What is Cerebral Palsy?

Cerebral Palsy (CP) is caused by a brain injury that occurs before, during or shortly after birth. There are different types of Cerebral Palsy; Spastic, Ataxic and Athetoid. Spastic CP is characterized by stiff and jerky movements and is the most common type of CP. In Ataxic CP, there is difficulty coordinating movements such as walking due to poor balance and uncontrollable shaking. With Athetoid CP, there is a combination of both spastic and ataxic CP. It is characterized by difficulties maintaining a steady position and there is involuntary movement of the face, arms and upper body.


Resources and links to Organizations*:

Cerebral Palsy Guide

Cerebral Palsy Guidance

United Cerebral Palsy

For additional resources and links, please visit our Links page here.


*The listing of Resources and Organization links are for informational purposes only and is not intended to reflect an endorsement by the Eastern Los Angeles Regional Center (ELARC).